Quick Links

Athletics Hall of Fame | All-Americans | Academic All-Americans | Martie & Russell Award Winners | National Champions | All-Time Championships | Postseason Appearances | Conference Players of the Year

All-Time Doc Martie & Ruth Russell Award Winners

The Doc Martie and Ruth Russell Awards are given out annually to the University of Nevada's top male and female senior student-athletes.

The awards are named for J.E. "Doc" Martie, a former Nevada men's basketball coach (1923-29, 1930-39) and administrator, and Ruth I. Russell, a former director of women's athletics (1948-69).

Student-athletes are nominated by their head coaches and must be in their final year of eligibility and in good academic standing. The award winners are chosen in a vote by the athletics department staff.

Here is a listing of the male and female student-athletes who have won these prestigious awards:

1960 Chuck Walker Basketball
1961 Val York Basketball/Baseball
1962 Jim Whitaker Baseball/Football
1963 Bob Pederson Football/Track & Field
1964 Bob Donlan Baseball
1965 Al McDaniel Football
1966 Fred Williams Track & Field
1967 Lane Monroe Skiing/Football
1968 Mike Sala Baseball
1969 Craig Congdon Baseball
1970 Tom Reed Football
1971 Bert Serrano Boxing/Gymnastics/Track
1972 Dick Allen Basketball
1973 Bill Marioni Football/Boxing/Track
1974 Dave Webber Basketball
1975 Greg Grouwinkel Football
1976 Pete Padgett Basketball
1977 Mike Rippee Football
1978 Jeff Tisdel Football
1979 Alex Willis Football
1980 Manny Rodriguez Football
1981 Frank Hawkins Football
1982 Lane Maestretti Track & Field
1983 Billy Allen Basketball
1984 Tony Zendejas Football
1985 Kirk Triplett Golf
1986 Mark McVeigh Football
1987 Eric Beavers Football
1988 Jeff Davis Football
1989 Tony Logan Football
1990 Jon Baer Basketball
1991 Neil Hulbert Football
1990 Matt Williams Basketball
1992 Kevin Soares Basketball
1993 Eric Morris Basketball
1994 Chris Vargas Football
1995 Eathan O'Bryant Basketball
1996 Alex Van Dyke Football
1997 Faron Hand Basketball
1998 John Dutton Football
1999 Geoff Noisy Football
2000 Trevor Insley Football
2001 Josh Smith Football
2002 Corey Jackson Basketball
2003 Erick Streelman Football/Baseball
2004 Garry Hill-Thomas Basketball
2005 Kevinn Pinkney Basketball
2006 B.J. Mitchell Football
2007 Nick Fazekas Basketball
2008 Marcelus Kemp Basketball
2009 Matt Bowman Baseball
2010 Luke Lippincott Football
2011 Colin Kaepernick Football
2012 Brett Roy Football
2013 Zach Sudfeld Football
2014 Deonte Burton Basketball
2015 Austin Byler Baseball
2016 Tyron Criswell Basketball
Year Name Sport
1996 Heather Zoerner Volleyball
1997 Kristi Harris Tennis
1998 Lise Mackie Swimming & Diving
1999 Alana Whitnack Volleyball
2000 Limin Liu Swimming & Diving
2001 Angie Yoon Golf
2002 Jenni Ashcroft Track & Field
2003 Erin Kelly Track & Field
2004 Alana Condon Golf
2005 Alyssa Chin Swimming & Diving
2006 Salaia Salave'a Volleyball/Basketball
2007 Kali Baker Cross Country/Track & Field
2008 Jordan McPherson Softball
2009 Dellena Criner Basketball
2010 Katie Holverson Softball
2011 Tahnee Robinson Women's Basketball
2012 Mallary Darby Softball
2013 Mengjiao Mi Swimming & Diving
2014 Grace Huang Swimming & Diving
2015 Mimi Mungedi Basketball
2016 Krysta Palmer Swimming & Diving

Student-Athlete of the Week Athlete of the Week

2016-17 Moment of the Season

Men's Basketball

The University of Nevada men’s basketball team captured the Mountain West regular season and tournament titles finishing 28-7.  The Wolf Pack played in the NCAA Tournament for the first time in a decade.


Student-Athlete of the Month

Follow us!