Five Nevada Student-Athletes Named To MW All-Conference Team

Nevada finished third at the 2013 MW Indoor Championships

Feb. 25, 2013


The Mountain West announced its Women's Indoor Track & Field All-Conference Teams today. All-Conference selections are awarded to the top-three finishers in each event at the MW Indoor Championships, which were held Feb. 21-23 at the Jacksons Indoor Track at the Idaho Center in Nampa, Idaho.

The University of Nevada track and field team was represented by five student-athletes: Deborah Amoah (Triple Jump), Samantha Calhoun (60-Meters), Samantha Diaz (Mile), Angelica Earls (60-Meters/200-Meters), and Kerri Simmons (Shot Put).

On Saturday, the Conference announced the Mountain West Men's and Women's Coaches of the Year, along with the Men's and Women's Outstanding Performer award recipients. This year's MW Men's Coach of the Year award was presented to New Mexico's Joe Franklin, while San Diego State's Sheila Burrell was honored with the Women's Coach of the Year accolade.

Wyoming junior Mason Finley earned the MW Men's Outstanding Performer Award after taking top honors in the shot put and second place in the weight throw. Finley, who entered the MW Championships with the nation's second-best recorded shot put distance this season (65'-9.75''), reached 65'-1.50'' in the competition.

San Diego State junior Shanieka Thomas captured the MW Women's Outstanding Performer Award. Thomas won the triple jump for the second consecutive year, thanks to a successful jump of 43'-9.00''. She is the national-leader in the event this season at 46'-2.50''. In addition to her triple jump victory, Thomas ran the anchor leg on the Aztecs' victorious 4x400-meter relay, and also finished second in the 400-meters.

Below is a list of individual awards, as well as the men's and women's All-MW selections with events participated in at the 2013 MW Indoor Championships. The New Mexico men and San Diego State women took home the team titles; the first-ever MW Indoor Championships for either team.



Men's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
Women's Coach of the Year: Sheila Burrell, San Diego State
Men's Outstanding Performer: Mason Finley, Wyoming
Women's Outstanding Performer: Shanieka Thomas, San Diego State

2013 Mountain West Women's Indoor Track and Field Team


Jennifer Bremser    Air Force    3,000-meters
Annette Eichenberger    Air Force    800-meters
Kassie Gurnell    Air Force    triple jump
Emma Bates    Boise State    1-mile, 3,000-meters
Mackenzie Flannigan    Boise State    200-meters
Heather Pilcher    Boise State    long jump
Marissa VanderMalle    Boise State    5,000-meters
Allison Forrester    Colorado State    high jump
Kiah Hicks    Colorado State    weight throw
Elizabeth Johnson    Colorado State    shot put
Jazmyn Webster    Colorado State    high jump
Meagan McKee    Fresno State    weight throw
Je'Nia Sears    Fresno State    long jump
Deborah Amoah    Nevada    triple jump
Samantha Calhoun    Nevada    60-meters
Samantha Diaz    Nevada    1-mile
Angelica Earls    Nevada    60-meters; 200-meters
Kerri Simmons    Nevada    shot put
Casey Dowling    New Mexico    long jump
Kirsten Follett    New Mexico    3,000-meters
Amber Menke    New Mexico    pole vault
Josephine Moultrie    New Mexico    800-meters; 1-mile
Kendra Schaaf    New Mexico    5,000-meters
Shawna Winnegar    New Mexico    5,000-meters
Kristen Brown    San Diego State    60-meter hurdles, pole vault
Jasmine Burrell    San Diego State    shot put; weight throw
Kelsey Hintz    San Diego State    pole vault
Nicole Oudenaarden    San Diego State    pentathlon
Allison Reaser    San Diego State    60-meter hurdles; pentathlon
Shanieka Thomas    San Diego State    400-meters; triple jump
Emily Block    UNLV    60-meters; 200-meters
Kelsey Williamson    UNLV    400-meters; 800-meters
Katy Hall    Wyoming    60-meter hurdles
Sabina Sandberg    Wyoming    high jump


Air Force    Distance Medley    Rebecca Esselstein; Bethany Gross; Morgan Mosby; Melissa Fuerst
Boise State    4x400    Yvonne Bennett; Mackenzie Flannigan; Chelsey Washington; Taryn Campos
Colorado State    Distance Medley   Holly Keeper; Meagan Robinson; Josephine Bush; Kaitlin Hanenburg
New Mexico    Distance Medley    Julie Brasher; Jasmin McCray; Mia Weaver; Janna Mitsos
UNLV    4x400    Emily Blok; Monay Meggs; Secoral Yanez; Kelsey Williamson
San Diego State    4x400    Allison Reaser; Maderia Toatley; Deyna Roberson; Shanieka Thomas

Download Schedule: Add to calendar


Student-Athlete of the Month

Follow us!