Women's Swimming
Mi Named WAC Freshman of the Year

SAN ANTONIO -  The University of Nevada swimming & diving team had its three-year run as Western Athletic Conference champions come to an end finishing fourth at the 2010 meet.  However the Wolf Pack did produce another WAC Freshman of the Year in Jiao Jiao Mi (Beijing, China) as she joined Kim Kabesh (2006), Margaret Doolittle (2007) and Jeanette Tour (2008) to earn the honors in the last five seasons.

Thursday she won 500-yard freestyle and Friday placed first in the 200-yard freestyle and today she added a third place finish in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 50.41.  She also swam on the Pack’s first place 200-yard medley relay, second place 400-yard medley and fourth place 400-yard freestyle relays during the championship.

Nevada concluded the 2010 meet finishing fourth with a score of 473 points.  Boise State’s score of 587 earned them the team title followed by New Mexico State (494 pts) and San Jose State (487 pts).

Doolittle (Sacramento, Calif.) swam 2:16.99 in the 200-yard breaststroke in her final WAC individual event to place second.  

Seattle, Wash. freshman Gabby Guieb was one of three Pack swimmers to place in the top seven in the 200-yard butterfly as she took second with a time of 2:01.83.  Junior Marichi Gandionco (Quezon City, Philippines) finished fourth and Kim Medina (Las Vegas) was seventh.

Jeanette Tour (Jr., Stockholm, Sweden) swam 2:00.68 in the 200-yard backstroke to place third while Chavisa Thaveesupsoonthorn (Fr., Bangkok, Thailand) was sixth with a time of 2:03.81.  Senior Breeana Sutton (Selah, Wash.) took 14th in 2:06.07.

Sparks sophomore Chelsey Larsen was the Wolf Pack’s top swimmer in the 1,650-yard freestyle placing 14th with a time of 17:41.30. Competing in her first WAC Championship, Lubbock, Texas freshman Calley Parham finished12th in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 52.08.

Junior Heather Ramirez (Mission Viejo, Calif.) was Nevada’s top diver in the 3-meter scoring 276.15 to place eighth.  Sophomore Aniesa Debaji (Edmonton, Alberta) took ninth with her score of 245.90 and sophomore Melyssa Charlton (Vancouver, B.C.) scored 244.30 to place 11th.

In the final event of the 2010 meet Parham, Doolittle, Dani Maddock (Sr., Bismarck, N.D.) and Mi swam 3:27.22 in the 400-yard freestyle relay to take fourth.