Nevada puts 10 on All-Mountain West swimming & diving team

Nevada placed 10 on the All-Mountain West team.

Feb. 25, 2014

The University of Nevada swimming & diving team placed third at the 2014 Mountain West Championship and 10 individuals were named the All-MW team announced today.  Heading the list was 2014 MW Diver of the Year, Grace Huang.  Huang won the 1-meter and platform events while finishing second in the 3-meter.

Divers Krysta Palmer and Stephanie Hansen were selected to team as Nevada had three divers in the top eight in all three diving events.

Sophomore Yawen Li, winner of 400-yard IM and 200-yard breaststroke was honored as was freshman Teresa Baerens who captured the 200-yard freestyle.  Joining them was Sophie Cieplucha, Michelle Forman, Sita Kusserow, Arantxa Medina-Alegria and Rachel O'Conner.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West announced the 2013-14 Women's Swimming & Diving All-Conference Team today. All-Conference honors are awarded to the top eight finishers in the individual events and top three relay team finishers at the MW Championships in San Antonio, Texas, last week.

On Saturday, Feb. 22, the Conference announced the Mountain West individual awards. San Diego State's Anika Apostalon was named the Women's Swimmer of the Year, while Aztecs head coach Mike Shrader was named Women's Swimming Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his career. Apostalon also earned the league's first Freshman of the Year honor.  En-Tien (Grace) Huang of Nevada was named the Women's Diver of the Year and Wolf Pack head diving coach Jian Li You was named Women's Diving Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. San Diego State's Mikaela Macklin was honored with the league's Senior Recognition Award prior to Saturday's finals session.

Below is a list of the All-MW selections and the event in which they were honored.  Boise State secured the program's second MW women's swimming & diving title in the past three seasons.

2013-14 Mountain West Women's Swimming & Diving All-Conference Team

School Events
Teresa Baerens Nevada 200-yard individual medley, 200-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle
Sophia Cieplucha Nevada 200-yard breaststroke
Michelle Forman Nevada 1,650-yard freestyle
Stephanie Hansen Nevada 1-meter springboard, 3-meter springboard, platform
En-tien (Grace) Huang Nevada 1-meter springboard, 3-meter springboard, platform
Sita Kusserow  Nevada 200-yard butterfly
Yawen Li       Nevada 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard individual medley, 200-yard breaststroke
Arantxa Medina-Alegria Nevada 100-yard breaststroke
Rachel O'Conner Nevada 200-yard butterfly
Krysta Palmer Nevada 1-meter springboard, 3-meter springboard, platform



Download Schedule: Add to calendar


Student-Athlete of the Month

Follow us!