Seven Nevada Players Earn All-WAC Honors

DENVER Seven baseball players from the Nevada Wolf Pack were honored by the Western Athletic Conference today as the 2007 all-WAC baseball teams and postseason awards that were selected by the league’s head coaches were announced. Senior pitcher Ryan Rodriguez earned Pitcher of the Year honors and the Freshman of the Year award went to freshman first baseman Shaun Kort.  It was the first time a Pack player has won WAC Pitcher of the Year award. 

Rodriguez, a senior from Reno, Nevada (McQueen HS), earned the WAC’s Pitcher of the Year award after putting together a record of 8-6 in 16 appearances. He has an ERA of 3.59 and is second in the WAC in strikeouts with 99. Rodriguez is the WAC’s active career leader in wins(31), innings pitched (389.2) and strikeouts (323).  

Kort, a native of Woodland Hills, Calif. (El Camino Real HS), hit .424 in 24 conference games and earned the WAC Freshman of the Year award. He had 23 RBI, nine doubles, three home runs and scored 17 runs. In all games, he currently leads the WAC with a batting average of .398 and has 47 RBI, 15 doubles, four triples, five home runs and has scored 40 runs.

Rodriguez was joined by junior Terry Walsh(OF) seniors Baker Krukow(DH) and Matt Renfree(RP) on the All-WAC first team.  Walsh hit a conference-high .434 with three home runs and 17RBI in WAC play.  Krukow batted .328 in 20 conference games.  Renfreem was 3-0 with two saves and a 2.53 ERA in 21.1 innings pitched in WAC action.

Senior Chris Siewert(SS) and junior Rod Scurry(SP) joined Kort on the All-WAC second team.  Siewert recorded a batting average of .273 in 23 WAC contests with 12 runs scored and 14RBI.  Scurry was 3-2 with a 3.89 ERA in eight conference starts with 38 strikeouts in 41.2 innings pitched.

Louisiana Tech head coach Wade Simoneaux was selected as Coach of the Year along with junior Brian Rike who was named Player of the Year.  Fresno State led the conference with six players on the all-WAC first team. Both Louisiana Tech and Nevada had four while Sacramento State placed one on the first team. Hawaii placed five players on the second team while Nevada, New Mexico State and San Jose State had three each. Fresno State had two players selected to the second team while Louisiana Tech and Sacramento State had one apiece.


First Team
Pos.-Name, Team, Ht., Wt., Yr., Hometown (Last School)
C-Danny Grubb, Fresno State, 5-11, 185, So., Orange, Calif. (Orange Lutheran HS)
1B-Albie Goulder, Louisiana Tech, 6-3, 205, Sr., Cave Creek, Ariz. (Cactus Shadows HS)
2B-*Erik Wetzel, Fresno State, 6-1, 175, So., Chino, Calif. (Don Lugo HS)
SS-Dennis Winn, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 198, Sr., Bowling Green, Ky. (Western Kentucky)
3B-#David Flores, Sacramento State, 6-2, 220, Jr., Union City, Calif. (James Logan HS)
OF-*Loren Storey, Fresno State, 5-10, 175, Sr., Brandon, Mo. (Crowder CC)
OF-*Steve Susdorf, Fresno State, 6-1, 195, Jr., Newhall, Calif. (Hart HS)
OF-Brian Rike, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 200, Jr., Richmond, Texas (Stephen F. Austin HS)
OF-#Terry Walsh, Nevada, 5-11, 185, Jr., Manhattan Beach, Calif. (Loyola HS)
UTI-*Brandon Hudson, Louisiana Tech, 6-1, 190, Sr., Benton, La. (Benton HS)
DH-Baker Krukow, Nevada, 5-11, 200, Sr., San Luis Obispo, Calif. (San Luis Obispo HS)
SP-Tanner Scheppers, Fresno State, 6-4, 190, So., Laguna Niguel, Calif. (Dana Hills HS)
SP-Justin Wilson, Fresno State, 6-3, 225, So., Clovis, Calif. (Buchanan HS)
SP-$Ryan Rodriguez, Nevada, 6-0, 205, Sr., Reno, Nevada (McQueen HS)
RP-Matt Renfree, Nevada, 6-8, 230, Sr., Auburn, Calif. (Placer HS)

Second Team
Pos.-Name, Team, Ht., Wt., Yr., Hometown (Last School)
C-Joe Leghorn, New Mexico State, 6-4, 225, Jr., Victoria, British Columbia (Lareda CC)
1B-Kris Sanchez, Hawaii, 6-3, 220, Sr., Tucson, Ariz. (Central Arizona CC)
1B-Shaun Kort, Nevada, 5-9, 180, Fr., Woodland Hills, Calif. (El Camino Real HS)
2B-#Jonathan Hee, Hawaii, 6-0, 170, Jr., Honolulu, Hawaii (Mid-Pacific Institute)
2B-Marcus McKimmy, San Jose State, 6-0, 185, Jr., Selah, Wash. (Columbia Basin College)
SS-Chris Siewert, Nevada, 5-11, 190, Sr., Henderson, Nev. (Tennessee)
SS-Kyle Bellows, San Jose State, 6-3, 200, Fr., San Jose, Calif. (Santa Teresa HS)
3B-Justin Frash, Hawaii, 5-10, 190, Sr., Camarillo, Calif. (Oxnard CC)
OF-Brandon Haislet, Hawaii, 6-2, 200, Jr., Sacramento, Calif. (Cosumnes River CC)
OF-Joseph Scaperotta, New Mexico State, 6-3, 200, So., San Diego, Calif. (San Diego State)
OF-Montana Dye, Sacramento State, 6-2, 210, Sr., Glendora, Calif. (Saddleback JC)
OF-Donato Giovanatto, San Jose State, 6-1, 195, Sr., Scottsdale, Ariz. (Phoenix College)
UTI-Adam Harvey, New Mexico State, 6-0, 185, Sr., Celina, Texas (Grayson County CC)
DH-Vinnie Catricala, Hawaii, 6-3, 190, Fr., Sacramento, Calif. (Jesuit HS)
SP-Clayton Allison, Fresno State, 6-5, 235, Jr., Visalia, Calif. (College of Sequoias CC)
SP-Dylan Moseley, Louisiana Tech, 6-5, 208, So., Texarkana, Ark. (Arkansas HS)
SP-Rod Scurry, Nevada, 6-7, 210, Jr., Reno, Nev. (Sierra JC)
RP-Brandon Burke, Fresno State, 6-3, 200, Jr., San Diego, Calif. (Rancho Bernardo HS)

WAC Player of the Year: Brian Rike, Jr., OF, Louisiana Tech
WAC Pitcher of the Year: Ryan Rodriguez, Sr., Nevada
WAC Freshman of the Year: Shaun Kort, 1B, Nevada

WAC Coach of the Year: Wade Simoneaux, Louisiana Tech

*2006 First Team All-WAC
#2006 Second Team All-WAC
$2005 Second Team All-WAC