Shipley Named WAC Pitcher of the Year

Bradey Shipley led five Pack players who earned all-WAC honors.

May 22, 2012

MESA, AZ--The Western Athletic Conference released its 2012 all-WAC baseball teams and postseason awards as selected by the league’s head coaches.  Sacramento State junior second baseman Andrew Ayers was named the Player of the Year and Nevada sophomore Bradey Shipley earned Pitcher of the Year honors. The Freshman of the Year award went to Sacramento State outfielder Rhys Hoskins. Sacramento State's Reggie Christiansen was named WAC Coach of the Year.

Ayers, a junior from Eureka, Calif. (St. Bernard's HS), batted .427 in conference play and led the WAC with 32 hits and a .627 slugging percentage during league play. Ayers also earned First Team all-WAC honors. Ayers becomes the second Sacramento State player to ever earn the WAC Player of the Year honor.

Shipley, a sophomore from Medford, Ore. (North Medford HS), earned the WAC’s Pitcher of the Year award. Shipley made six starts during conference play, registering a 1.64 ERA. He recorded a 4-2 record during conference play with 37 strikeouts.

Hoskins, a native of Sacramento, Calif. (Jesuit HS), hit .275 during WAC play with three doubles, four home runs and 15 RBI. He posted 17 runs and nine walks. Hoskins is the first Hornet to ever earn WAC Freshman of the Year honors.

Christiansen, in his second season in charge of the Hornets, was honored as the WAC Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. Christiansen led Sacramento State to its first-ever regular season WAC title.

Player of the Year: Andrew Ayers, Jr., 2B, Sacramento State
Pitcher of the Year: Bradey Shipley, So., Nevada
Freshman of the Year: Rhys Hoskins, Fr., OF, Sacramento State
Coach of the Year: Reggie Christiansen, Sacramento State

OF-Aaron Judge, So., Fresno State
OF-Brooks Klein, Jr., Nevada
OF-Tanner Waite, Sr., New Mexico State
OF-Justin Higley, So., Sacramento State
2B-Andrew Ayers, Jr., Sacramento State
SS-Pi’ikea Kitamura, Jr., Hawai‘i
SS-Ryan Gebhardt, So., Louisiana Tech
SS-Zack Voight, Sr., New Mexico State
C-Carlos Escobar Jr., Jr., Nevada
C-Zac Fisher, Jr., New Mexico State
C-Derrick Chung, Sr., Sacramento State
DH-Kenny Wise, Sr., Fresno State
SP-Bradey Shipley, So., Nevada
SP-Tom Jameson, Jr., Nevada
SP-Adam Mott, Jr., New Mexico State
RP-Scott Coffman, Sr., New Mexico State

OF-Zack Swasey, Sr., Hawai‘i
OF-Rhys Hoskins, Fr., Sacramento State
1B-Trent Garrison, Jr., Fresno State
1B-Alex Williams, Sr., Louisiana Tech
1B-Kewby Meyer, Fr., Nevada
1B-Tanner Rust, So., New Mexico State
2B-Pat Hutcheson, Sr., Fresno State
2B-Parker Hipp, Jr., New Mexico State
3B-Jake Alvarez, So., Fresno State
3B-Collin Bennett, Sr., Hawai‘i
DH-Trevor Paine, Sr., Sacramento State
SP-Justin Haley, Jr., Fresno State
SP-Tom Harlan, Sr., Fresno State
SP-Matt Sisto, Sr., Hawai‘i
SP-Dallas Chadwick, So., Sacramento State
RP-Jamie Gilley, Jr., Louisiana Tech



Download Schedule: Add to calendar


Student-Athlete of the Month

Follow us!